Eastern Colorado Geriatric Research, Education and Clinical Center (GRECC) - VA Eastern Colorado Health Care System
Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.

VA Eastern Colorado Health Care System

Menu
Menu
Veterans Crisis Line Badge
My HealtheVet badge
EBenefits Badge
 

Eastern Colorado Geriatric Research, Education and Clinical Center (GRECC)

 

Eastern Colorado GRECC Team

6 February 2020

Leadership | Administration | Investigators | Fellows

Leadership

Robert S. Schwartz, MD
Title: Director, Division of Geriatric Medicine
Professor, Geriatric Medicine
Contact: robert.schwartz@cuanschutz.edu
Research Activities:
— primary care for older patients including: dementia, depression, hypertension, type 2 diabetes mellitus, nutrition/exercise, thyroid disease, over-medication and sleep disorders
 

Wendy M. Kohrt, PhD
Title: Associate Director for Research
Pofessor, Geriatric Medicine
Contact: wendy.kohrt@cuanschutz.edu
Research Activities:
— Molecular Transducers of Physical Activity Consortium (MoTrPAC): NIH Common Fund initiative to establish a comprehensive map of the molecular responses to endurance and resistance exercise, with long-term goal of understanding mechanisms for health benefits of exercise. CU-AMC is one of seven Clinical Centers that will enroll 3000 participants.
— Bioenergetic and Metabolic Consequences of the Loss of Gonadal Function
— Novel Modifiers of Musculoskeletal Adaptations to Exercise
 

Kathryn Nearing, PhD, MA
Title: Associate Director for Education and Evaluation
Assistant Professor, Geriatric Medicine
Contact: kathryn.nearing@cuanschutz.edu
Research Activities:
— Older Veteran Engagement Team (OVET)
 

Lauren Abbate, MD
Title: Acting Associate Director, Clinical
Contact: lauren.abbate@cuanschutz.edu
Research Activities:
— Integration of an Evidence-based Exercise Program, Walk with Ease, into the Existing MOVE! Program
 

Skotti Church, MD
Title: Associate Program Director, Geriatrics Fellowship
Assistant Professor, Geriatrics
Contact: skotti.church@cuanschutz.edu
Research Activities:
— Health professions education
— Interprofessional Education
 

Return to the Top

Administration

Colleen Costello
Title: Administrative Officer
Contact: colleen.costello@va.gov
 

Karleen Stratton
Title: Administrative Support Assistant
Contact: Karleen.Stratton@va.gov
 

Return to the Top

Investigators

Marian Betz, MD
Title: Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine
Contact: marian.betz@cuanschutz.edu
Research Activities:
— older driver safety
— suicide prevention
 

Patrick "Jud" Blatchford, PhD
Title: Research Associate, Biostatistics and Informatics
Contact: patrick.blatchford@cuanschutz.edu
Research Activities:
— Pre-Clinical
— Clinical Trials (Phase 1 & Phase 2)
— Study Design
 

Cory Christiansen, PT PhD
Title: Professor, Physical Therapy
Contact: cory.christiansen@cuanschutz.edu
Research Activities:
— Physical Activity Behavior Change for Older Veterans after Dysvascular Amputation
— Integrating Walking Behavior Change into Rehabilitation for People with Amputation because of Vascular Disease/Diabetes
 

Marc Cornier, MD
Title: Professor, Endocrinology
Contact: marc.cornier@cuanschutz.edu
Research Activities:
— Appetite Regulation in Older-Aged Obese Individuals
 

Michael Harris-Love, PT, MPT, DSc, FGSA
Title: Visiting Professor, CU Physical Therapy Program
Contact: Michael.Harris-Love@cuanschutz.edu
Research Activities:
— Promoting the functional independence of older adults
— Developing viable methods of assessing muscle quality
— Employing innovative exercise interventions for those with sarcopenia
 

Dwight Klemm, PhD
Title: Professor, Pulmonary Sciences
Contact: dwight.klemm@cuanschutz.edu
Research Activities:
— Age- and Sex-associated Production of Adipocytes from Bone Marrow Stem Cells
 

Hillary Lum, MD, PhD
Title: Associate Professor, Geriatric Medicine
Contact: hillary.lum@cuanschutz.edu
Research Activities:
— Patient-centered Outcomes Research to Support Diverse Communities with Advance Care Decision Making
 

Daniel Matlock, MD
Title: Associate Professor, Geriatric Medicine
Contact: daniel.matlock@cuanschutz.edu
Research Activities:
— Shared Decision Making; Hospice Decision Aids
— Decision Aids for ICDs and LVADs
— Doctor-Patient Communication and Patient Engagement
 

Ed Melanson, PhD
Title: Professor, Endocrinology and Geriatric Medicine
Contact: ed.melanson@cuanschutz.edu
Research Activities:
— Effects of Lifestyle Factors (physical activity, diet, and sleep) on Bioenergetics (energy and substrate metabolism, and physical activity), particularly related to Obesity and Aging
 

Kerrie Moreau, PhD
Title: Professor, Geriatric Medicine
Contact: kerrie.moreau@cuanschutz.edu
Research Activities:
— Gonadal Regulation of Endothelial Function
 

Jennifer Stevens-Lapsley, PT PhD
Title: Professor, Physical Therapy
Contact: jennifer.stevens-lapsley@cuanschutz.edu
Research Activities:
— Improving Function in Older Veterans with Hospital-associated Deconditioning
— Improving Rehabilitation Outcomes After Total Hip Arthroplasty
— Shifting Rehabilitation Paradigms in Skilled Nursing Facilities toward Higher-Intensity Rehabilitation
 

Return to the Top

Fellows

Jacob J. Capin, PT, DPT, MS, PhD candidate
Title: GRECC Advanced Research Fellow, Physical Therapy
Contact: jacob.capin@cuanschutz.edu
Research Activities:
— Investigate prevention of osteoarthritis and other musculoskeletal diseases affecting people as they age, including our service Veterans
 

Sean Iwamoto, MD
Title: Instructor of Medicine, Endocrinology
Contact: sean.iwamoto@cuanschutz.edu
Research Activities:
— Transgender health
 

Teresa S Jones MD, MS FACS
Title: GRECC Advanced Research Fellow
Contact: teresa.jones@cuanschutz.edu
Research Activities:
— Develop a home-based prehabilitation program for patients prior to surgery
 

Laura Swink, OTR, PhD
Title: GRECC Advanced Research Fellow – Occupational Therapy
Contact: laura.swink@cuanschutz.edu
Research Activities:
— Conduct a mixed-methods study that will identify changes in Veteran perceptions across the course of TKA rehabilitation related to: (1) barriers and facilitators of PA and (2) self-reported life participation and participation restrictions
 

Return to the Top

Site Map